Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe

This vintage truck with the giant American flag flapping in the breeze and the life-sized plastic horse in the back have become a fixture here. I love it.

9 Responses to Hard Times Cafe

  1. Welcome aboard from Porto Marie!
    From what i can see your city has a lot to tell so keep bringing good photos and history. That truck is a gorgeous museum on wheels:)

  2. Also welcome from Copenhagen! It looks like a beautiful city. I’m looking foreward to seeing more 🙂
    /Kathrine

  3. Edwin Sumun says:

    hello Marie and welcome to the ever expandind DP family!

    Beautiful pictures I must say. looking forward to what you have in store.

    Kuala Lumpur Daily Photo

  4. MoonSoleil says:

    Welcome from Saarbrücken, Germany.

    What a cool picture, I guess the horse is also having a hard time in front of the café… =)

  5. jenni says:

    Welcome to Dailies! I love visiting your city! Now I can do so every day. I look forward to seeing your your pics.
    ~ Jenni (DC Daily)

  6. Marie McC says:

    Thank you all for the kind words! I’m very excited about joining the Daily Photo family! Can’t wait to show you more!

    nuno, I just love that truck! They keep it in primo condition.

    kathrine, I have some photos that I’m really excited about lying in wait!

    edwin, I have lots of great material. I don’t know why no one has done a coffee table type photo book on Alexandria before.

    moonsoleil, yes, that horse does have it hard! I haven’t actually seen this, but I think they post menus and specials on the horse’s right side. I walked past it the other day and saw the velcro stuck to the horse’s side! 🙂

    jenni, thank you! I visit your city every day, too. (I work there.) DC also is very beautiful.

  7. Nicola says:

    What a funny idea! That’s certainly an eyecatcher!

  8. Marie McC says:

    nicola, it really is an eyecatcher especially because most of the rest of Old Town is pretty conservative. Not a lot of whimsy here! 🙂

  9. Fred Parker says:

    Thank you for the compliments on the truck. It’s a 1941 Chevy, a great example of art deco auto design. We drive it in the two Old Town parades. In Feburary the horse is saddled and George Washington rides and waves to the crowd. In March the horse grows a horn to become a unicorn with a leprechon on top for the Saint Patrick’s parade.

